Dhritrashtra Grief due to Arjuna !!!

Beginning of Epic…………………….

Jaya must be recited after having bowed in obeisance before Narayana (Krishna) and also Nara (Ajuna) the supreme human being, and also the goddess Sarasvati.

Vaishampayana & Souti explaining the Mahabharata starting with ” Yudhishthira is a great tree created out of righteousness, Arjuna is its trunk, Bhima is its branches, the two sons of Madri are its plentiful fruit and flowers, and Krishna, Brahma and the Brahmanas are the root.”

Dhritarashtra was explaining his grief when Kaurvas defeated by Pandavs.

DhritRashtra told to Sanjaya “O Sanjaya! Listen to all that I am about to say. You will then find that I am not worthy of contempt. You are learned in the sacred texts, intelligent, wise and respected for being wise. My inclinations were not for war, nor do I find pleasure in the destruction of my lineage. I have no special affinity towards my sons compared to the sons of Pandu. My own sons, following the wrong path, were upset with me because I was old and blind. I bore all that, because of my weak state and because of my love for my sons. I was deluded and silly and Duryodhana’s folly thrived on that. He saw the wealth and power of the sons of Pandu at the rajasuya sacrifice and was mocked at his awkwardness when he ascended the hall. He couldn’t bear this, but was incapable of defeating the Pandavas in the field of battle. Unlike a Kshatriya and incapable of energetically pursuing wealth, with the help of the king of Gandhara, he planned an unjust game of dice. O Souti! Listen to my words and learn all that happened later and all that I came to know. When you hear what I say and learn, you will know that my wise eyes have the gift of foresight.”

  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard that, in the presence of all the kings, Krishna (Draupdi) was taken, when the wonderful bow was drawn and pierced, the target fell to the ground.
  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard that Subhadra of the Madhu lineage was forcibly carried away by Arjuna and married in Dvaraka and when the two heroes of the Vrishni lineage set out for Indraprastha.
  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard that Arjuna had satisfied Agni by giving him the Khandava forest and when he used his divine arrows to check the downpour brought down by the king of the gods.
  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard that Arjuna had pacified in combat the god of the gods, Shiva, who appeared before him in the disguise of a hunter, and obtained from him the great weapon Pashupata.
  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard that Arjuna, bound by his promise, had gone to heaven and learnt properly from Indra the use of celestial weapons.
  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard that my sons, spurred by Karna’s advice, had gone on a cattle-related expedition and been captured by the gandharvas, and then freed by Arjuna.
  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard that when the great-spirited Arjuna lived in the kingdom of Virata, my best had been destroyed by Arjuna on a single chariot.
  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard that the king of Matsya44 had with great honour bestowed his daughter Uttara on Arjuna and he had accepted her for his son.
  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard Narada declare that Krishna and Arjuna were Nara and Narayana and that he had truly seen them thus in the world of Brahma.
  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard that Krishna of the Madhu lineage, who had covered the world with one foot had been engaged on the side of the Pandavas.
  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard that Karna and Duryodhana had plotted to revile Keshava but he had shown himself in many forms.
  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard that Vasudeva had become their advisor and Shantanu’s son Bhishma and Bharadvaja had pronounced blessings on them.
  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard that Vasudeva, Arjuna and the immeasurable Gandiva bow had come together, a threesome of fearful energy.
  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard that Arjuna, overcome by lassitude, had sunk down on his chariot, and Krishna had shown him all the worlds within his own body.
  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard that Arjuna, having placed Shikhandi in front of him, had vanquished the infinitely courageous Bhishma, unconquered in many battles.
  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard that Shantanu’s son Bhishma was lying there and was thirsty and Arjuna pierced the ground to slake his thirst.
  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard that the great warriors, the sanshaptakas, who had been placed so as to kill Arjuna, were all killed by him.
  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard that all our great warriors, unable to defeat Arjuna, combined to surround and kill the boy Abhimanyu and then rejoiced.
  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard that the mindless warriors of Dhritarashtra cheered with delight at killing Abhimanyu and the furious Arjuna took his vow about the king of Sindhu.
  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard that Arjuna had taken a vow to kill the king of Sindhu and kept his vow in the midst of all his enemies.
  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard that on finding the horses of Dhananjaya exhausted, Vasudeva unyoked them in the field of battle, gave them water to drink and then re-yoking them, drove on.
  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard that Arjuna, on his chariot, fended off all warriors with his Gandiva bow, when the horses that drew his chariot were indisposed.
  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard that Drona, Kritavarma, Kripacharya, Karna, Drona’s son62 and the brave king of Madra63 allowed the king of Sindhu(Jaydratha by ARJUNA) to be killed in their presence.
  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard that the exceedingly brave Karna, unconquerable in war, was killed by Arjuna in a fraternal war that was beyond comprehension even to the gods.
  • O Sanjaya! I had no hope of victory when I heard that the weapon brahmashira, was discharged by Ashvatthama and repelled with another weapon by Arjuna, which he then pacified, but Ashvatthama had to surrender the jewel on his head.
  • Alas! Woe to Gandhari who has lost her sons, grandsons, friends, fathers, brothers and relatives. The Pandavas have accomplished a difficult feat. They have again gained a kingdom without a rival.
  • Alas! I have heard that only ten people have survived this difficult war, three on our side and seven on the side of the Pandavas. In that fearful war of Kshatriyas, eighteen armies have been slain. I see extended and extreme darkness all around me. Delusion overcomes me. O Suta! Consciousness is leaving me, my mind is delirious.

Shree Hari…

Deepak Kumar Jha (A Learner)

 

Leave a Reply

